Hazbin Hotel picked up for production by A24

One week ago, one of my best friends ruined my life by introducing me to Hazbin Hotel, an adult animated series brought to us almost exclusively through the hard work of its creator, Vivziepop. I not only instantly fell in love with the show, but it seems that the impression it left has only deepened as the last seven days have ticked by. I eagerly looked it up hoping for more, but was gobsmacked to find that the second episode wasn’t expected to debut until roughly this time in 2021. I guess that’s to be expected when it’s pretty much a single person shouldering the weight of an enormous project with an exquisite quality standard, but even so, I felt the life leaving my body (no pun intended) upon realizing it’d be at least a year before I could have another dose.

Cut to today when a single tweet changed everything: Hazbin Hotel has been picked up by the studio A24! I had no idea who that was, but I was too excited to care! A quick Googling tells me that they apparently produce various kinds of entertainment media and have shows on Hulu, Netflix, and HBO – aka platforms where the show’s extremely adult humor probably won’t be watered down, thank heavens (still no pun intended). There is currently very little information available as to when or where we can expect to see new episodes of Hazbin Hotel, by which I mean there’s absolutely no information and we’ll just have to wait. The suspense is already killing me (NO PUN INTENDED I SWEAR I’M NOT DOING THIS ON PURPOSE), and I’ve only been into this show for a week; how in the hell (screw it I give up) longtime fans have managed to endure since October 2019, I’ll never know.

 

Obligatory Legal Crap

Hazbin Hotel and all related characters are ©Vivienne “Vivziepop” Medrano. I’m sure there’s now also some ownership rules involving A24 as of today, so let’s chuck them in here too for good measure. I know a lot of people are nervous about this union, but I have high hopes so far. If A24’s had the good sense to back Amy Sedaris and John Mulaney, then apparently they have very good taste and the show is in good hands. And hopefully future me isn’t looking back on this moment and sighing woefully.

About Leedzie

Leda "Leedzie" Clark is a lifelong nerd who prefers writing over a social life, has refined awkwardness to a fine art, and always seems to notice the wrong thing first in any situation. She has a sharp attention to detail and excellent critical thinking skills, which she mostly uses to obsessively analyze the lives of fictional characters.

Posted on August 7, 2020, in News, TV & Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.